- Nprn: 9322
- Summary: Bethania Methodist Chapel was built in 1854 in the Gothic style of the gable-entry type. The chapel was demolished and rebuilt in the functional, rectangular Late Twentieth Century style with brick and pebble-dashed walls, a flat roof, long-wall entry plan and integral social centre.
The Chapel is now known as St Paul's Community Church.
RCAHMW, June 2010
- Description: Chapel built 1854/6. Demolished in early 1960's. Modern chapel building built on site. [Additional:] A functional, rectangular, flat-roofed, six-bay, brick and pebble-dashed storeyed chapel and social centre. Only the cross above the entrance, protected by a horizontal triangular projection from the roof line, distinguishes this building from a 1960s trading estate office. Present status [2002/3]: chapel (St Paul's Community Church; Loudon Square Methodist Church). (2003.04.07/RCAHMW/RFS)
Name of chapel: Loudon Square Methodist Church KMU ref: 
Address: 40 Loudoun Sq. Butetown, Cardiff NRPN ref:14228
Denomination: (Wesleyan) Methodist OS ST 1888/7517
Date of visit: 26/02/96
GENERAL CONDITION OF BUILDING AS AT SURVEY:
ORIGINAL BUILDING DEMOLISHED
SITE REDEVELOPED FOR RELIGIOUS USE
MAIN NOTEWORTHY FEATURE of MAIN BUILDING / COMPLEX:
Original chapel St Paul's Community Church was constructed 1856,
'A commodious structure in the Early English style - a structure which is certainly an ornament to that part of the town. The new building is about 70 feet by 50 feet and capable of seating about 600 persons as it presently stands. Provision is made for lengthening it and adding galleries which will provide for 400 more. Beneath the chapel there is a large schoolroom which will accommodate 400 Sabbath Scholars. Behind this room are vestries and other necessary appendages to a place of worship. The cost of the entire building is about £2000.'
(extract from the Cardiff and Merthyr Guardian dated September 29th 1856, incuded within the booklet 'The History of Methodism in the Cardiff Docks Area'.)
A photograph included on the cover of the booklet hangs in the present church. It shows a gable façade, twin corner towers with octagonal tops and lofty spires, pointed head arched openings and steps up to the entrance. More Gothic vernacular than Revival.
This was demolished in early 1960's and the present, typical mid 1960's brick, domestic scale, flat roofed building constructed.
Contains social meeting facilities and offices as well as chapel.
- Built: 1854 Source:RCCEORBWM
- Demolished: 1960 Source:
- Rebuilt: 1965 Source:
- Date Of Chapel: 1965 Source:
- £ 2000: 1905 (RCCEORBWM)
- 320: 1905 Sittings (RCCEORBWM)
- 200: 1905 Accomodation (RCCEORBWM)
- Demolished: 1960 ()
- Chapel: 30/11/2010 (Denominational website)
- Welsh: 1905 (RCCEORBWM)
- Monument Type: CHAPEL
- Form: Documents
- Style: Late 20th Century
- Plan: Long-wall Entry
- Window Glazing: Large Pane
- Windows: Flat-Headed
Key Details of this Chapel
Key Dates of this Chapel
Costs during this Chapels History
Capacities during this Chapels History
Changes of Status its History
The Languages of the Chapel during its History
Key Characteristics of this Chapel
Images from Coflein
- Grid Reference: ST18877517
- Address: LOUDON SQUARE, CARDIFF