- Nprn: 8723
- Summary: Capel Talwrn Methodist Chapel was first built in 1803, rebuilt in 1851 and rebuilt again in 1880. The present chapel, dated 1880, is built in a mixed Vernacular/Sub-Classical style with a gable-entry plan, to the design of architect Richard Davies of Bangor. The chapel has a manse and schoolroom attached.
RCAHMW, February 2010
- Description: Cause established chapel first built 1803/5; rebuilt 1851. Present chapel built 1880 in mixed vernacular/sub-classical style, gable entry type, to the design of Richard Davies of Bangor. Status (1999): in chapel use.
Large rectangular Calvinistic Methodist chapel orientated approximately north-south. Manse and schoolroom attached at south end, linear plan. Pitched slate roof.
Exterior: north front - snecked rusticated masonry construction. Gable has stressed free stone cornice with stepped decorative band below. One small rectangular 4 paned sash window flanked by shorter blind window openings, continuous sill to a stressed freestone string course across set within the gable. Below gable height is a central serliana style tripartite sash window (ie. central round headed 10 paned sash window flanked by shorter and narrower flat topped 8 paned sash windows), with individual projecting sills. To either side of this are plain free stone monumental porches with blocking course above projecting slab cornice with widely spaced dentil moulding above entablature. Stepped curve moulded base at sides. Flat chamfered reveals to door. Double doors with hipped fielded panels surrounded by bolection mouldings. 3 panel over light above.
East and west side elevations of rubble masonry, 4 rectangular 8 paned sash windows in each. Free stone lintels and projecting sills.
Manse of same construction as chapel, pitched slate roof tall single stack, main entrance in west front in angle with rear chapel wall. All windows are 4 pane sashes, including paired sashes in single opening.
External steps at west lead to schoolroom. Sash window right of T&G door. South gable end of school has 3 small rectangular windows in gable, same arrangement as in north front gable, with a single 8 pane sash below.
Chapel interior: 2 opposing vestibules in angle between exterior front wall and curving interior side walls at north end - each with panelled single door to chapel, wood architrave to dado level.
Main interior - slightly coved T&G ceiling of 3 longitudinal bays, divided by moulded beams. Large, square, central, ornate ventilation grill of iron. Moulded cornice at junction of cove and plaster walls. Wooden dado rail with T&G below. Rectangular window openings with sloping sills at dado level. 4 Window openings to either side; 3 directly to exterior, 1 adjacent to door to vestibule in curved section of interior wall - interior glazing only. North wall serliana window opening, central opening breaks cornice and cove. Raked floor - aisle to either side of centrally divided block of pews, raked side banks face into centre, raked rear bank has central aisle. Pews with chamfered ends. Doors in south wall to either side of set fawr, wood architraves to dado level. Left door solid panelled, right leads to manse and has 2 glazed upper panels in art neauvaux style. Hymn boards between doors and pulpit.
Set fawr - rectangular plan with clipped front corners. Chamfered corner posts, carved acorn finials with gadroon husks. Roll moulded top rail, above open fret frieze of interlacing circles, rail below to chamfered panels of T&G. Interior bench, central lectern desk. Table before pulpit. Rounded back side chairs to either side of pulpit.
Pulpit - canted front, roll moulded top rail above bolection moulded panels. Front 2 panels each contain fielded cross. Corner posts same as set fawr. Panelled back board with clipped side panels behind pulpit. Architrave with corresponding canted returns to dado level. 2 bracketed silver metal paraffin lamps attached to architrave. Frieze with rounded trefoil design above Minister's seat back.
Memorials - 2 marble tablets on rectangular slate mounts above doors either side of pulpit. Each have brackets and winged triangular pediments with antefixae. Left tablet has inscription:
"CAPEL M.C. Y TALWRN" above "Codwyd yr adeilad cyntaf yn y flwyddyn 1803 yr ail yn yr flwyddyn 1851 a'r Capel hwn yn y flwyddyn 1880". The right tablet is to the memory of Y Parch Cadwaladr Williams, d. 1860 and John Prytherch, Dyffryn Gwyn, d. 1864.
Interior of schoolroom - T&G entrance screen, modern false ceiling, plaster walls, wood dado, T&G below.
Chapel forecourt surrounded by rubble wall, with upright coping forming crenelation. 2 single gated entrances flanked by triangular headed limestone posts lie directly infront of entrance porches. Eastern one now blocked, west has wrought iron gate with spearhead and scroll decoration. Double gated entrance further to east, similar details.
Stableblock and cart shed under pitched slate roof arranged crosswise beyond schoolroom.
- Built: 1803 Source:Site visit-C James
- Built: 1805 Source:Religious Census
- Cause: 1803 Source:I Hughes
- Date Of Chapel: 1880 Source:Site visit-C James
- Rebuilt: 1851 Source:Site visit-C James
- Sunday School & Caretaker's House: 1880 Source:
- Rebuilt: 1880 Source:
- Architect: 1880 Richard Davies, Bangor
- £ 1400: 1905 (RCCEORBWM)
- 294: 1905 Sittings (RCCEORBWM)
- 70: 1905 Sittings (RCCEORBWM)
- 80: 1851 (Religious Census)
- 34: 1851 (Religious Census)
- Chapel: 1999 (I Hughes)
- Chapel: 2011 (Denominational Yearbook)
- Welsh: 26/05/1998 (Site visit - C James)
- Monument Type: CHAPEL
- Form: Building
- Style: Lombardic
- Gallery: X
- Plan: Gable Entry
Key Details of this Chapel
Key Dates of this Chapel
Key People in this Chapel History
Costs during this Chapels History
Capacities during this Chapels History
Changes of Status its History
The Languages of the Chapel during its History
Key Characteristics of this Chapel
Images from Coflein
- Grid Reference: SH48627690
- Address: LON GROES, TALWRN