- Nprn: 8264
- Cadw Ref: 63/1/15(3)
- Cadw Record No: 9304
- Summary: Quaker meeting have been held on this site since the establishment of a burial ground in 1673. The Pales Quaker Meeting House was first built in 1716 and then rebuilt in 1745 in the Vernacular style of the long-wall entry type. A school was held in the former designated women's meeting room from 1867 and a schoolmaster's house added in 1878. The Meeting House had renovation works c.1955, in 1979 and the roof re-thatched in 1987. The Pales is now Grade 2 Listed as one of the earliest Quaker Meeting Houses in Wales.
RCAHMW, January 2010
- Description: Present meeting house built ca. 1745 in vernacular style, long-wall entry type. Schoolmaster's house built 1878. Renovated 1950's, 1979-80 & 1987. See Site Files [Ecclesiastical] for photos. Status (2001): chapel ; Friends' Meeting House.
In 1673 a Quaker burial ground was established, and meetings were held in a precursor to the present Meeting House. The Meeting was licensed in 1716 (Cadw), and the next meeting house given to Friends (David Butler, The Quaker meeting houses of Britain (1999), v. 2). The present meeting house dates from ca. 1745. In 1867-89 a school was held in the meeting house (Cadw), and a schoolmaster's house was built in 1878 (D Butler, op. cit). Ceilings of 1950s (D. Butler); extensive renovations of 1979-80 (Cadw; D. Butler). Roof re-thatched in 1987 (D. Butler). Status (2001): Friends' Meeting House.
Note from Religious Census, 1851 , p 643. by Wm. Prosser Williams. Vicar.
"At the extreme Western Boundary of the Parish abt. 3 Miles from the Church, near Llandegley, a dissenting chapel has been erected, on Land given by the Inhabitants of Llandegley for the accommodation of the Inhabitants of that Parish and to which some of my Parishioners resident near the St, occassionaly resort."
"One of the few "traditional" meeting houses in Wales, and the oldest still standing. Both meeting room and womes' room are the same size, and are separated by a plastered partition with hinged shutters, possibly not original".......the older hotizontally-sliding sah windows, modernized by 1911, were replaced in 1979-80 by new casement windows (David Butler, The Quaker meeting houses of Britain (London: Friends Historical Society, 1999), v. 2, 860-861.
- Built: 1716 Source:WO of MHLG
- Mtgs Held In Earlier Bdg.: 1673 Source:Cadw
- Built: 1717 Source:Guide
- Built: 1713 Source:Marching to Zion
- Built: 1745 Source:Religious Census
- Quaker Burial Ground: 1673 Source:Cadw
- Site Used Since Then: 1673 Source:WO of MHLG
- Date Of Chapel: 1745 Source:Cadw
- Meeting Was Licensed: 1716 Source:Cadw
- Extensive Renovations: 1979 Source:Cadw
- Re-built: 1828 Source:Religious Census
- School Held In Mtng House: 1867-1868 Source:Cadw
- Schoolmaster's House Blt.: 1880A Source:Cadw
- Chapel: 1958 Source:WO of MHLG
- £ 550: 1905 (RCCEORBWM)
- 60: 1905 Sittings (RCCEORBWM)
- Chapel: 11/08/1993 (Cadw)
- Chapel: 2010 (R Scourfield)
- thatched roof
- Monument Type: CHAPEL
- Form: Building
- Storey: Single Storey
- Style: Vernacular
- Plan: Long-wall entry
- Window Glazing: Small Pane
- Windows: Flat-Headed
Key Details of this Chapel
Key Dates of this Chapel
Costs during this Chapels History
Capacities during this Chapels History
Changes of Status its History
Key Characteristics of this Chapel
Images from Coflein
- Grid Reference: SO13786406
- Address: COED-SWYDD, LLANDEGLEY