- Nprn: 7249
- Cadw Ref: H22/M/8(2)
- Cadw Record No: 17748
- Summary: The cause at Ffos-y-Ffin Methodist began in 1765 at Tynyporth farm in the parish, and the first chapel was built in 1780. This was then rebuilt in 1831 on land leased from the estate monastary, the land later bought in 1879.
The stone chapel is built in the Simple Round-Headed style as a long-wall type. The pulpit is on the front interior wall between two high rounded sash windows and flanking plain doorways. In the centre pof the elevation is a plaque with a painted inscription: "Ffos-y-ffin. Y Ty hwn a adeil /adwyd yn y flwyddyn/1831" There is a pair of gallery sash-windows to the front, and a pair of blocked openings to the rear, for a gallery that was never completed. The original painted grain box-pews radiate from a 5-sided passage. A new vestry was built in 1927. Ffos-y-Ffin is now Grade 2 listed.
In 1905 (Royal Commission on the Church of England and other Religious Bodies in Wales and Monmouthshire) there were 200 sittings in the chapel which was valued at £600.
RCAHMW, November 2009
- Description: 1. Cause begun 1765 & chapel built 1780. Rebuilt 1831-2 in simple round-headed style, gable entry type. New vestry built 1927. Status (1998): in chapel use.
2. Stone built chapel has a rendered lateral-facade with gable end roofs to the sides. The pulpit is on the entrance wall between two high rounded sash windows and flanking plain doorways. There is a pair of gallery sash-windows to the front and blocked openings to the rear for a gallery that was never completed. The original painted grain box-pews radiate from a 5-sided passage.
CD/Ecclesiastical/SN46SE from G.A. Ward.
Set at back of chapel yard below A487 and flanked by chapel house on SW. and vestry on NE. sides of yard. 1831. Lateral entry chapel with stone walls, largely pebbledash, and with slate roof. Front façade with rendered plinth and rendered heads and reveals to door and window openings. A doorway at each end with a mid-C19 door of 4 moulded vertical panels, grey-painted; a 12-pane sash window with rendered concrete cill above, its inner jamb in line with inner jamb of doorway (see old Capel Tabernacl, Lampeter, NPRN:14932). A pale-grey painted plaque in centre with white /silver-painted inscription: "Ffos-y-ffin. Y Ty hwn a adeil /adwyd yn y flwyddyn/1831", the top of the plaque roughly at impost level of the flanking semi-circular headed window openings with 16-pane vertically sliding sash windows and interlacing tracery in the heads.
NE. gable (not visible from chapel yard): stone rubble with traces of former lime/cement cladding. 12-pane sash window in reveals. Rear elevation faces on to a field: pebbledash; plain eaves; slate roof; a blocked rectangular window opening at either end above. Set lower and slightly nearer the centre, 2 tall cambered-headed window openings under masked stone vousoirs and each containing a 16-pane sash window. S. gable: lean-to wing against it, next to chapel house.
Back in the chapel yard, the 1927 vestry on NE. has rendered walls and slate roof with red tile ridge. SW. side elevation facing on to chapel yard has 8-pane window with white-painted frame and raked concrete cill. Pilastered doorway to r.h. with swept segmental pediment with date "1927" in raised letters; flat-arched doorway; grey-painted and wooden-boarded door with late-C20 glazed panel and overlight; deep reveals. SE. gable of vestry faces A487: large round-arched 4-light window with transoms and moulded archivolt; leaded lights of stained and frosted glass. 8-pane window in NE. side with catslide roof over N. projection forming hip with lean-to roof over vestry kitchen.
Chapel house: its NE. elevation faces chapel yard: pebbledash, slate roof with red tile ridge and 3 red brick stacks. Formerly 2 units? Fancy rendered heads to openings. 2 wooden-boarded doors with glazed panels, each with a window above and below on the SE., the W. door in angle with front wall of chapel and inside a half-glazed and flat-roofed porch extension with cast-iron cresting.
Chapel yard: 2 diagonal paths from chapel entranceconverge before chapel gate, both laid with grey-blue pebble setts arranged lozenge-wise; brick edging; 2 and a part lozenges and a heart in a segment picked out in paler brown and white pebbles. Pebble setts in front of chapel house; pebble sett path along front of chapel. Rendered front boundary wall with rendered coping. 3 steps down from pavement by road through C19 iron gate. Grassed area to NE. of vestry bounded by hedges.
Chapel interior: not in use in winter. Wooden-boarded floor. Painted-plaster walls and ceiling; lower parts of walls painted pink with narrow red-painted band at top; pale-grey painted walls over. Plain white-painted ceiling. Window openings with beaded jambs and flat timber cills. 4 "Sunhouse" type heaters descend from ceiling as do 4 bronze? And white glass electric lights. The 2 front windows are framed by red curtains under a white pelmet. Matchboarded lobbies with moulded cornices project into chapel; pairs of inner lobby doors, each door of 2 diagonally-boarded panels in stopped and chamfered frame; brass and ?porcelain door handles. Inner side wall of each lobby (a) has shallow oblong window of 4 panes of late-C19 or early-C20 etched glass and (b) adjoins 2 box pews to either side of pulpit, the rear pews with taller backs.
Painted and grained box pews, in the form of bench seats with vertical panel backs and side doors. Similar internal layout as to Capel Bethel, Aberarth (NPRN: 7294). Block of centre pews, the front pews wider and lower than the Sedd Fawr, the rear pews in the block with canted sides; flat top rail ramped up in front to the Sedd Fawr. 2-manual University organ in oak case in middle of the front 2 pews. Raked box pews to sides and back of chapel: arranged between centre back aisle and the 2 rear diagonal aisles (the last extending to back corners of chapel): all to rear and sides of centre aisle and centre block of pews (see above). Each side from centre back aisle are, firstly, a paired and obtuse-angled block of 3 pews depth, ranged round part of the back and sides of the centre block of pews; a bench seat in front and a 4th pew at back adjoining the rear diagonal aisle , with a coner pew behind. 2ndly, paired block of pews extending from diagonal rear aisle to lateral aisle; 3 pews depth; 4th pew at back, adjoining rear diagonal aisle and extending into corner pew. 3rdly, along each side wall only, a single block of pews of 2 pews depth with 4-panel backs and bench seat at front
Rectangular Sedd Fawr enclosure with panelled sides and front; a bench seat extension each side of Sedd Fawr and in front of, and in line with the centre block of pews (replaced by radiator on S.). Bench seat along front and N. sides. Pulpit stairs (4 steps) with stick balustrade on S. of pulpit leads up to rectanglar pulpit projection supported by short grained timber columns and faced with painted and grained and 2-moulded panel in front and to N. side; 1 to S., with half-column at each front angle; bench seat in pulpit; panelling against back wall; cupboard below.
Organ registration: (l.h.): Swell: Salicional 8', Voix celeste 8', Oboe 8', Forte 11', Vox humana, Flute 4'.
Couplers: Sub octave great, Super octave great, Swell to great.
(r.h.): Great: Dulciana 8', Diapason 8', Trombone 16', Principal 4', Forte 1'.
Vestry interior: wooden-boarded floor. Walls with string at window cill level; grey-painted below, pink-painted above; white moulded picture rail. Mansard shaped matchboarded ceiling. Window openings with beaded edges, flat heads, splayed reveals and raked cills; frosted glass panes. 4 moulded-panel doors: in NE. corner, in NW. wall to kitchen, and from matchboarded SW. porch with encaustic tile floor. In NW. wall also, 1920s wood fireplace surround on N., upright Waldener piano on NW. corner dais. Harmonium marked Heims & Co., Hereford, Ross, Abergavenny, Brecon (see Capel Fron-wen, Llannarth, NPRN:7354). Sliding volume button ("Soft, increase, loud").
Registration (l.h.): Forte, Octave coupler, Obl. Diapason bass 16, Diapason Bass 8'
Middle: Diapason expression
(r.h.): Voix celeste 8', Dulce lass 8', (Label gone), Tremona, Obl. Diapason Treble 16.
Iron-framed benches with wood plank seats and backs-cum-desks, by H.Addison & Co. Ltd., Wellington, Salop; 4 each side of centre aisle. To rear, 3 on SW. and 5 on NE. are of another iron-framed model by H. Addison & Co., with moveable shallow plank backs. Bookcase and cupboard on W. of porch. Pictures on the walls (of , for instance, Parch. Joseph Jones (1811-?85), Parch David Evans (1827-76)). East stained glass window. Rear kitchen.
14/12/95 & 25/2/96
Visited 13/12/95 by kind permission of the Minister
NMR Investigator photos: 960031/34,36 & 37; 960032/5,7,9,11,13-17.
INFO TRANSFERRED FROM CORE
PHOTO CAT NO:
CAT ACCESS NO:
LAST EDIT DATE: 1999.09.20/RCAHMW/PHM
- Built: 1831 Source:Horsfall-Turner
- Built: 1831 Source:Jenkins, O.M.
- Built: 1831 Source:Cadw
- Built: 1780 Source:Evan James
- Date Of Chapel: 1831 Source:
- Rebuilt: 1831 Source:Evan James
- Vestry: 1927 Source:Jenkins, O.M.
- New Vestry: 1927 Source:Evan James
- Vestry: 1927 Source:Cadw
- £ 600: 1905 (RCCEORBWM)
- 66: 1851 ()
- 200: 1905 (RCCEORBWM)
- 240: 1851 ()
- Chapel: 21/02/1996 (Cadw)
- Converted: 2010 Residential (RCAHMW)
- Monument Type: CHAPEL
- Form: Building
- Storey: Single Storey
- Style: Art Nouveau
- Plan: Long-wall entry
- Pulpit Position: Rear wall
- Window Glazing: Stained Glass
- Windows: Round-Headed
Key Details of this Chapel
Key Dates of this Chapel
Costs during this Chapels History
Capacities during this Chapels History
Changes of Status its History
Key Characteristics of this Chapel
Images from Coflein
- Grid Reference: SN44816066
- Address: FFOS-Y-FFIN