- Nprn: 6486
- Cadw Ref: 47
- Cadw Record No: 18871
- Summary: Yr Hen Gapel was built in the 1670s, and rebuilt in 1780. The present chapel dates from 1827, with modifications from 1839 and 1869. A new chapel was built nearby in 1909 (NPRN: 97272) whilst the old chapel was restored and partly converted for secular use in the 1980s. The interior is sub-divided horizontally, with the upper gallery level used as a chapel and workshops below. Yr Hen Gapel is built in the Simple Round-Headed style of the long-wall entry type, and is now Grade 2 listed.
RCAHMW, July 2009
- Description: Cause begun & first chapel built ca.1650s, with another? Dating from the 1670s, rebuilt 1785. Present building dates from 1827, rebuilt/modified 1839 & 1869. New chapel built nearby 1909 (NPRN: 97272); the old chapel was restored & partly converted to secular use in the 1980s. Building is listed Grade 2. Built in the Simple Round-Headed style, long-wall entry type. See Site Files [Ecclesiastical] for photos. Status (1997): chapel use above & workshop below.
In the 1650s the cause was led by Stephen Hughes; the first meeting house or chapel was built ca. 1650 (1851 R. Census), with another? Dating from the 1670s (Cadw). There was rebuilding work of 1780 (Welsh Office Provisional List). The present building dates from 1827 (date plaque). A new chapel was built nearby in 1909 (NPRN: 97272). The old chapel was restored and partly converted to secular use in the 1980s. Status (1997): chapel use above & workshop below.
"The Congregation is divided into different sections which on Sunday Evenings meet in different Dwelling Houses for prayer and where sermons are occasionally delivered" (information from John Owen, Minister, in Religious Census of 1851).
Chapel in long-wall tradition. Brown stone rubble with dressed stone quoins and vouissoirs; slate roof, half hipped, bracketed eaves. Round-arched doorway to each end; pair of arched sash windows with Gothick glazing pattern and smaller, similar round-headed window towards each end at upper level.
Subdivided internally with upper (gallery) level used as chapel with workshop below (information from Cadw list amendmentof 04/11/1997).
- Restored & Part Converted: 1980-1989 Source:Cadw
- Dated: 1827 Source:Welsh Office
- Dated: 1780 Source:Welsh Office
- Built: c.1650 Source:1851 Census
- Built*: 1670-1679 Source:Cadw
- Cause Led By S. Hughes: 1650-1659 Source:Cadw
- Date Of Chapel: 1827 Source:Plaque
- Present Building: 1827 Source:Cadw (plaque)
- Rebuilt(1): 1780 Source:
- Rebuilt(2): 1827 Source:
- Rebuilt(3): 1909 Source:
- : 1839 Source:
- : 1869 Source:
- £ 925: 1905 (RCCEORBWM)
- 500: 1905 Sittings (RCCEORBWM)
- 80: 1905 Accomodation (RCCEORBWM)
- 30: 1851 Standing (Religious Census)
- 462: 1851 Free sittings (Religious Census)
- Converted: 1986 (Cadw website)
- : ()
- Welsh: 04/09/1998 (Site visit - S. Walters)
- Monument Type: CHAPEL
- Form: Building
- Style: Simple Round-Headed
- Plan: Half-Hipped Box
- Window Glazing: Intersecting
- Windows: Round-Headed
Key Details of this Chapel
Key Dates of this Chapel
Costs during this Chapels History
Capacities during this Chapels History
Changes of Status its History
The Languages of the Chapel during its History
Key Characteristics of this Chapel
Images from Coflein
- Grid Reference: SN44543613
- Address: PENCADER