- Nprn: 6456
- Summary: Bryn Independent Chapel was built in 1841 and rebuilt in 1856 and 1884. The present chapel, dated 1884, has a mixed building style with a gable entry.The chapel was renewed in 1914 by architect D.J. Jones of Port Talbot.
RCAHMW, June 2009.
- Description: First chapel built 1841/2; rebuilt 1856 & 1884. Renewed 1914. Present building is in mixed style, gable entry type. Status (1998): in chapel use. Date of present building 1884.
A chapel was built in 1841 (1851 R. Census), rebuilt in 1856 (Anthony Jones) and renewed in 1914 (A Jones). Status (1998): in chapel use. Addition of porches across lower façade (Anthony Jones).
In fairly good condition. Signs of some dampness in chapel. Cemetery rapidly becoming a wllderness. Outbuildings in a poor state (information of 18/8/1998 from Mgareth Watts).
- Built: 1841 Source:Religious Census
- Built: 1841 Source:Watts, Gareth
- Built: 1841 Source:Jones, Anthony
- Date Of Chapel: 1884 Source:
- Rebuilt: 1856 Source:Jones, Anthony
- Renewed: 1914 Source:Watts, Gareth
- Rebuilt & Enlarged: 1856 Source:Watts, Gareth
- Renewed: 1914 Source:Jones, Anthony
- Alterations: 1884 Source:JO index
- Architect: 1914 D.J. Jones, Port Talbot
- £ 1748: 1905 (RCCEORBWM)
- 500: 1851 (Religious Census)
- 700: 1905 Sittings (RCCEORBWM)
- Chapel: 1998 (Blwyddiadur)
- English: 10/08/1998 (Site visit - Gareth Watts)
- Monument Type: CHAPEL
- Form: Building
- Style: Sub Classical
- Gallery: On four sides
- Plan: Gable Entry
Key Details of this Chapel
Key Dates of this Chapel
Key People in this Chapel History
Costs during this Chapels History
Capacities during this Chapels History
Changes of Status its History
The Languages of the Chapel during its History
Key Characteristics of this Chapel
Images from Coflein
- Grid Reference: SN53740055
- Address: GELLI ROAD, PENCEILIOG, BRYN