- Nprn: 14315
- Summary: Opened in 1861, renovated in 1879, demolished in the late 20th c. Built in the Simple Round-Headed style, gable entry type. Possibly still a chapel and might have replaced the old chapel as shown in one of the photos; it is this chaplel which might have been demolished. 1954 Congregation moved to a new church in Elfred Avenue, building became a camping equipment centre and later a Jehovah's Wiitness Hall. They demonlished the former Sardis and built a new Kingdom Hall on the site 1989-90.
- Description: "Sardis was the ancient capital of Lydia and one of the sites of the early church.".....
"A group of Congregationalists, Baptists and Calvinistic Methodists .....began to hold meetings in a loft above a stable at Thomas Lawrence's farm where Windsor Arcade now stands"......After renovation in 1879, all services were in English In 1951 church members decided to move to the new St David's Church in Elfed Avenue, opened in 1954 (information from Roy Thorne, Penarth, a history, vol 1 (Risca: Starling Press, 1975), p 37).
Sardis was the first building in Plassey Street (information from Roy Thorne, Penarth, a history, vol 2).
The Kingdom Hall of Jehovah's Witnesses was built on the site of the former Sardis Chapel; Mr Rosser's photos of 1991 show the present Kingdom Hall; his photo of 1983 shows the former Sardis Chapel, apparently then in commmercial use (OMJ, 14/07/1998).
- Renovated: 1879 Source:Thorne, Roy (v 1)
- Met In Stable Loft: c.1858 Source:Thorne, Roy (v 1)
- Moved To St David's: 1954 Source:Thorne, Roy (v 1)
- Closed: c.1954 Source:Thorne, Roy (v 1)
- Demolished: 1980A Source:Meazey, A E
- New Kingdom Hall On Site: 1980A Source:Meazey, A E
- Opened: 18/09/1861 Source:Thorne, Roy (v 1)
- Rebuilt: 1886 Source:Capel
- Rebuilt: 1886 Source:JO index
- Built: 1861 Source:
- Rebuilt: 1989 Source:
- Date Of Chapel: 1989 Source:
- Builder: 18/09/1861 David Jones, Penarth
- Architect: 1886 John Henry Phillips, Cardiff
- £ 3000: 1905 (RCCEORBWM)
- 450: 1905 Sittings (RCCEORBWM)
- 250: 1905 Accomodation (RCCEORBWM)
- Demolished: Kingdom Hall of Jehovahs Witnesses now built on site ()
- Monument Type: CHAPEL
- Form: Building
- Style: Late 20th Century
- Plan: Gable Entry
- Window Glazing: Large Pane
- Windows: Round-Headed
Key Details of this Chapel
Key Dates of this Chapel
Key People in this Chapel History
Costs during this Chapels History
Capacities during this Chapels History
Changes of Status its History
Key Characteristics of this Chapel
Images from Coflein
- Grid Reference: ST18547190
- Address: PLASSEY STREET, PENARTH