- Nprn: 11422
- Summary: Salem Chapel was first built in 1839 and subsequently enlarged in 1862. The present chapel dates from 1903 and is a red-brick gable entry chapel with an attached, contemporary red-brick chapel house, set back on the right hand side. It has a 3-bay simple Gothic gable-entry facade with buttresses, crowning finial and narrow triple vent slits in the apex. The right hand pointed doorway has a wooden door with ornate hinges. On the centre pointed window, the original tracery is no longer extant. There is a left hand lancet. A stone plaque beneath the centre window is inscribed: "Salem/ Calvinistic/ Methodist Chapel/ 1903 - T Ridge Architect/ R A Jones Builder". A further plaque leaning against the base of the front wall is inscribed: "Salem/ gan y Trefnyddion Calfinaidd/ Adeiladwyd AD 1839 / Enlarged 1862/ Rebuilt 1903". The chapel and house are enclosed at the front by a brick dwarf wall with rounded stone coping and low square-panel iron railings.
RCAHMW, December 2010
- Description: Built in 1839. Present status : unknown
First built in 1839; enlarged 1862; present chapel dates from 1903, to design of T Ridge, architect. Red-brick gable entry chapel with attached & contemporary, red-brick chapel house, set back on r.h.. 3-bay simple Gothic gable-entry facade with buttresses, crowning finial, and narrow triple vent slits in apex; r.h. pointed doorway with wooden door with ornate hinges; centre pointed window, the original tracery no longer extant; l.h. lancet. Stone plaque beneath centre window is inscribed: "Salem/ Calvinistic/ Methodist Chapel/ 1903 - T Ridge Architect/ R A Jones Builder"; further plaque leaning against base of front wall is inscribed: "Salem/ gan y Trefnyddion Calfinaidd/ Adeiladwyd AD 18?39 .... Enlarged 1862/ Rebuilt 1903".
Flat-headed window openings with ashlar lintels in return, 3 to l.h. and one to r.h., from where also 2-storey chapel house projects, its front elevation with simple Gothic pointed openings on ground floor and flat-arched openings under ashlar lintels above; paired lancet in l.h. bay and with pointed doorway in narrower set-back bay on r.h.
Chapel & house enclosed at front by brick dwarf wall with rounded stone coping, and low, square-panel iron railings.
O M Jenkins, 20/04/2004; visited briefly 21/01/2003.
- Built: 1839 Source:
- Enlarged: 1862 Source:
- Rebuilt: 1903 Source:
- Date Of Chapel: 1903 Source:
- Architect: 1862 T. Ridge,
- Builder: 1862 R. A. Jones,
- £ 850: 1905 (RCCEORBWM)
- 135: 1905 Sittings (RCCEORBWM)
- Chapel: 21/01/2003 (Site visit - O M Jenkins)
- Monument Type: CHAPEL
- Form: Documents
- Style: Simple Gothic
- Plan: Gable Entry
- Window Glazing: Leaded
- Windows: Gothic
Key Details of this Chapel
Key Dates of this Chapel
Key People in this Chapel History
Costs during this Chapels History
Capacities during this Chapels History
Changes of Status its History
Key Characteristics of this Chapel
Images from Coflein
- Grid Reference: SJ20151654
- Address: TREFNANNAU