- Nprn: 11204
- Cadw Ref: 25/G/16(4)
- Cadw Record No: 12978
- Summary: The cause at Llangoffan was a daughter of that at Rhydwilym, and started between 1668-1680 with meetings at Trebwllt, the home of Owen Edwards. Slightly later the meetings moved to the home of William Garnon in Castle Morris, but they soon outgrew his house and had to be held in the open air at a spot known as 'Y Cornel Bach'. Llangloffan Baptist Chapel was built in 1706, only the third Baptist chapel to be built in Wales, and was incorporated from Rhydwilym in 1745. It was restored in 1749, again in 1791 and rebuilt in 1862, opening in August 1863. The clerk of works was Thomas Mathias of Llangloffan Uchaf, the designer recorded as William Davies of Trefelin, but it is likely that Joshua Morris of Newport was also involved.
The present chapel, dated 1862, is built in the Sub-Classical style with a gable entry plan. The large gable façade has a central door with a tracery fanlight incorporating the Morris motif of the 'dove ascending'. Above this is a triplet of tall, narrow round-headed windows with Y tracery, with two larger full height round-headed windows flanking the doorway which incorporate both Y headed glazing and the dove motif. Pilasters to the outer bays support a shallow pediment arch. There is the inscription LLANGLOFFAN BAPTIST CHAPEL together with the dates 1706, 1749, 1791 and 1862.
Internally the platform pulpit has been altered and moved forward, probably when the organ was inserted behind it in 1962. The three sided gallery is relatively plain with long panels to the front, and supported in timber columns decorated with marbled paintwork. There is a particularly fine large, central ceiling rose incorporating concentric circles of geometric patterns, floral designs, foliate patterns and a inner hanging pendant of curled leaves.
RCAHMW, May 2014
- Description: The church was built in 1706, it was restored in 1749 and in 1791. It was rebuilt as the present church in 1862. Built in the Sub-Classical style. Status (1998): chapel
1706 originally restored 1746, 1791, 1862. Stone/slate rendered. Sub-classical façade with reticulated pilasters and arched recess. Tall arched window openings. Walled forecourt. 1993 PCNPA.
Extract from The Religious Census of 1851: A Calendar of the Returns Relating to Wales Vol 1, ed. By I G Jones & D Williams, "There are two services every Sunday Evening which are kept in two domestic houses and in the Chapel and a Domestic House alternately. The service in the afternoon is kept once a month in a Domestic House."
Some similarity with Baptist Church at Mount Pleasant, Solva, 1863 (information from Cadw list description of 14/07/1993).
Large chapel in a farming community built of the rubble from the earlier chapel and then cement rendered. Wide shallow Andrea arch across the façade to the returned pediment line. Typical architectural borrowings. Name of chapel not contained in a plaque but formed into an ellipse.
The church was formed in 1746 (1998 Llawlyfr of Undeb Bedyddwyr Cymru); after having been first built in 1706 (RCCEORBWM; Welsh Office & MHLG; PCNPA)., it was restored in 1746 (PCNPA) or 1749 (W.O. & MHLG), and in 1791 (W.O. & MHLG; Cadw; PCNPA). It was rebuilt as the present church in 1862 (date plaque; RCCEORBWM; W.O. & MHLG), or 1862-3 (Cadw). See Mt Pleasant Baptist Church, Solva (NPRN: 11196). Status (1998): in Baptist use.
- Restored: 1749 Source:Welsh Office & MHLG
- Restored: 1791 Source:PCNPA
- Restored: 1791 Source:Welsh Office & MHLG
- Restored: 1746 Source:PCNPA
- Restored: 1862 Source:PCNPA
- Built: 1706 Source:RCCEORBWM
- Built: 1706 Source:Welsh Office & MHLG
- Built: Pre 1800 Source:Religious Census
- Dated: 1791 Source:Cadw
- Built: 1706 Source:PCNPA
- Dated: 1862 Source:Cadw (plaque)
- Dated: 1749 Source:Cadw
- Built: 1746 Source:Jones, Anthony
- Church Formed: 1746 Source:Llawlyfr 1998
- Date Of Chapel: 1862 Source:
- Iron Gate And Overthrow: 1930 Source:Cadw
- Organ: 1900-1999 Source:Cadw
- Rebuilt: 1862 Source:RCCEORBWM
- Rebuilt: 1862 Source:Welsh Office & MHLG
- Rebuilt: 1862 Source:Jones, Anthony
- Rebuilt: 1863 Source:JO index
- Architect: 1863 William Davies, Trefelyn
- Architect: 1863 Joshua Morris,
- £ 3000: 1905 (RCCEORBWM)
- 39: 1905 Accomodation (RCCEORBWM)
- 599: 1905 Sittings (RCCEORBWM)
- 300: 1851 (Religious Census)
- 300: 1851 (Religious Census)
- Chapel: 1998 (Llawlyfr)
- Chapel: 2010 (R Scourfield)
- Chapel: 2014 (Capel day)
- Welsh: 1998 (Llawlyfr)
- Monument Type: CHAPEL
- Form: Building
- Storey: Two Storey
- Style: Sub Classical
- Gallery: On Three Sides
- Plan: Gable Entry
- Pulpit Position: Rear Wall
- Window Glazing: "Y" Glazing
- Windows: Tall Round-Headed
Key Details of this Chapel
Key Dates of this Chapel
Key People in this Chapel History
Costs during this Chapels History
Capacities during this Chapels History
Changes of Status its History
The Languages of the Chapel during its History
Key Characteristics of this Chapel
Images from Coflein
- Grid Reference: SM90563237
- Address: LLANGLOFFAN, GRANSTON